Leadership Verse

For a long while now, the following verse has stuck in my heart.

“And David shepherded them with integrity of heart; with skillful hands he led them.” Psalm 78:72

I cannot tell you how many times God has brought this verse to mind either for me or to share with someone else. So it just seemed natural to share it here with you.

There are more than a few truths in this one short verse. I’ll just focus on one in this post.

I am asked from time to time if leaders are born or made. I think it was John Maxwell who said basically, it’s both; they are born and people can learn to be leaders. In other words, leadership is a skill we can learn. The above verse says that David led Israel skillfully. A skill is something we can learn.

Several years ago, God impressed on my heart to be a lifelong learner. This commitment helps me to be moldable and teachable. It also spurs me on to read more and continually learn.

What about you? Have you made a similar commitment?

If not, why not? This time of year is a great time to re-commit to leading people by God’s power for His glory.

If you have made a similar commitment, comment below with some ways that you stay fresh and keep learning.

As someone else has aptly said, “The moment you stop learning, you stop leading.”

Let’s  continually learn as leaders. And let’s love and lead people to Jesus!

 

One comment

  1. Evang.Gretiana · December 27, 2015

    I’m a rather cautious kind of person who does not really like to be embarrassed, so as a leader I’ve committed myself to a life long learning so that I won’t always be found wanting. I know those I lead need it.

    Like

Leave a comment